Workout Video 2

Posted: December 5, 2011 in Bootcamp, My Workouts, Videos
Tags: , , ,

Be sure to do a proper warmup and cool down before, and after the video. I will describe the couplets below.

Set 1:
Straight-Leg Deadlift
– Keep a very slight bend in your knees. Hinge forward at the waist until you feel tightness in the back of your legs; keep a straight back. Shoulders are not shrugged up by your ears, keep them relaxed. Hold DBs close to your legs. Concentrate on the muscle burn in your legs and use those muscles to pull your upper body back up.

Power Jack – A more advance jumping jack. Concentrate on soft landings and controlled movements. Keep your chest up.

Set 2:
Mountain Climbers
– Body in a straight-armed plank position. Keep your butt down! Drive knees into chest. Increase the intensity by holding onto DBs.

Pushups – Here I started with full pushups using DBs. I quickly realized I wasn’t going to get through the entire set like this. Do what you can, and modify if you have to. This is a tough set!

Set 3:
Over-the-Chair
– A personal favorite of mine, “borrowed” from fitness guru Tony Horton of Beachbody.com. Keep your shoulders down, chest up, and move the upper body as little as possible. Move your legs at the hips and tilt your pelvis up just a titch to engage that core. Pick a “tall” chair or a “short” chair and get that foot up and over it!

Forearm-Together Bicep Curl – Squeeze your arms together at the forearms, or if your DBs are larger, squeeze those together. Squat a little to stabilize your upper body and hinge forward slightly. Squeeze those biceps at the top of the curl and don’t rock that upper body

Set 4:
Sumo-Squat and Upright Row
– Toes turned slightly out, feet just wider than hip distance apart. Drop your hips straight down to perform the squat, don’t let your knees turn in. For the row, lead with the elbows, keep good posture, don’t hunch forward and keep those shoulders relaxed and away from your ears.

Plank Jacks – Why the heck did I put these last?! That is what I thought when I did my first set of these. Get in a good elbow plank position. Butts down! Jack in and out with your feet and do the best you can! If you feel fatigued, hold that plank, catch your breath and then jump back in!

Comments
  1. Julie says:

    I cant beleive the sweat in just over 17 minutes….thank you!!!!!

  2. Christine Schmidt says:

    Loved the workout but missed hearing your voice.

    • Stephanie says:

      You are too sweet Christine! I never imagined that anyone would miss my rambling! Lol! The funny thing is that it was SO hard for me not to talk during the video. I had to keep reminding myself to keep my trap shut!

  3. Tammy Barone says:

    Another great video. thanks for the workout this morning. I miss your voice too. It is always good to have you encouraging me.

Leave a Reply

