The “Dirty” Dozen

Posted: December 13, 2011 in Health, Healthy Tips, Nutrition
Tags: , , , ,

Whether you are on a budget and need to prioritize your organic purchases, or you would simply like to know which type of produce has the highest pesticide residues—and which do not—the following guide from the Environmental Working Group will help.

I am not a diehard organic girl, however, when it comes to “The Dirty Dozen” I do my best to buy these items organic. A basic rule of thumb to live by is buy organic thin skinned fruits and vegetables and if they have thick skin save your money and buy non-organic.

Simple Rules to Buying and Eating Organic Foods

1. Back to my simple rule: thin skin must be organic, thick skin can be non-organic. Watermelon? Non-organic. Grapes? Organic. Don’t be fooled into thinking you can wash pesticides off grapes, tomatoes and other thin-skinned produce. The pesticides soak into the skin!
2. You should still wash organic foods. While some farmers make every effort to grow their foods chemical free, their farm could still be located near a farmer that doesn’t. Chances are they share a water supply that can get contaminated from other sources.
3. Buy local by visiting your local Farmers’ Markets. Develop a relationship with the farmers that make the effort to produce organic produce.

Organic is EXPENSIVE. I know, it kills me when I go to the grocery store each week to buy fruit and veggies to feed my bottomless pits (my kids…). But, in the long run, I know that in certain cases, organic is not only something to consider, it is imperative for my family. Do what you can, when you can. 🙂

Leave a Reply

