New Years Resolutions!

Posted: December 26, 2011 in Bootcamp
Tags: , , , ,

So is anyone else ready to jump into a new year working towards a new you?? I know I am! I have had enough party food to last me well into the new year, that’s for sure!

What are your plans for you this year? It’s a specific question that often conjeurs up some very vague responses.
– I want to be healthier
– I want to lose weight
– I want to eat less
– I want to be a good example to my family

All of these resolutions are valid. Unfortunately, good intentions don’t produce results. This resolutions are the kind that fall to the way side come Valentine’s Day. To truly change yourself, you need to start with your mindset. You are not looking to lose 50 pounds and taking on a “diet” to get you to your goal. What happens when you get there? What happens when you wake up 50 pounds lighter? Do you continue to exercise regularly? Do you continue to meal plan and calorie count? Do you continue to do all of the things that got you to where you wanted to be or do you go back to “the old you”? Finally you are done dieting! Finally you can relax and eat freely. Finally you can skip the gym. Of course, this is not the case. We would all be skinny minis if it were!

Today you need to decide what you want for yourself. You need to be specific and you need to tell people. Write it down. Email it to me. Post it in the comments here…. just get it out there. If you say it, it becomes more real than if you just think it. And if it is on the internet, it is always out there 😉

So, I try to lead by example. Here is what I see for myself this year.
– I will get certified as a personal trainer
– I will build my own business helping people become healthier and stronger versions of themselves.
– I will continue to eat more real foods and less fake foods
– I will purchase either a pig or a cow from a local, organic farm
– I will blog daily 🙂

That is what I plan to do this year. Nothing is outlandish and unattainable. There are things that will force me to travel outside of my comfort zone, which is not something I typically enjoy so much, but I know I can do it. I know I have what it takes and I have a great support system at home. I now have said it. It is definitely out there…. so I challenge you to do the same. Let’s make 2012 a fantastic year together!!!!

Leave a Reply

