Tuesday 1/31

Posted: January 31, 2012 in Bootcamp, General Stuff, Healthy Tips
Tags:


Calorie Count :
I burned a whopping 212 calories tonight! I am super happy as my goal was to surpass 200. I am so proud of all of you for sticking with me and pushing yourselves the way that you did. The workout we did tonight was tough! There were advanced elements as well as a lot of cardio work. So good for you! You should be very proud of yourselves!
I want to note here that everyone is different. Everyone’s bodies are different. I burned this amount tonight, you may have burned more than me or less than me. This is just to give you a ballpark idea, and to put all your hard work into a “number”.
Another thing to keep in mind is that we do Tabata in class which is a form of High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT). During this sort of training, the body continues to burn calories up to two hours after you have untied your sneakers. So that number is most definitely higher, but it is difficult to say by how much. That depends on how hard you worked out, how efficiently your body burns calories, and on a bunch of other variables. So just keep that in mind.
If you are curious about my calorie counter, it is a Fitbit. You can read all about it here. I LOVE it and it is so useful to me in so many more ways than just counting how many calories I burned during a workout.

A side note –
A couple of people asked me “does it get better/easier/less painful?” Yes, and no.

If you haven’t worked out regularly in awhile (or ever), soreness and tiredness is going to happen. If you stick with a regular workout routine, as the weeks pass by, the soreness that you feel now will subside and be replaced with new soreness, that is, if I am doing my job correctly 😉

Mostly your body gets accustomed to the ebb and flow of the workout cycle. Soreness after a new styled workout will become less painful and seem more like an old friend than an old enemy. Really, it will. The soreness is just your body’s way of recovering from the stress of the moves that you did. You will be okay. You will be stronger for it and you will gain endurance and confidence as well. I promise that!

Mark this day on the calendar. Make a physical note somewhere (you can post it here, email me, jot it on your home calendar – whatever!) about how you feel right now. How many pushups/squats/Jackie Chan kicks did you do before you started to curse me under your breath? And yes, I know you all do! I guarantee that when you look back at that note at the end of the session, and you came to all the classes, you will be able to do at least twice the number of whatever it was that you wrote down – maybe more if you add in another workout at home.

I like to end with a motivational something…. how bout this for a funny….

Funny, but so incredibly true.
And for those of you who are “feeling the burn” and need a little relief, read my tips HERE about what to do to ease those achy muscles.

Comments
  1. sheila matthews says:

    How are you tracking the amount of calories you burn? do you have a device that does that for you? If so, which one?

    • Stephanie says:

      Hi Sheila! I track my calories burned with my FitBit. I did a write up about it on an earlier blog post. You can find that HERE. It is a rough estimate as the device isn’t foolproof (none are). I like to just have an idea of what calories were burned so I can eat appropriately to compensate in accordance with my fitness goal that I have set. My reading will be different from someone else’s, however, it will give you a decent ballpark estimate. Here is a link to the FitBit product page. I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

