Why Lift Heavy?

Posted: February 1, 2012 in Health, Healthy Tips
Tags: , ,

It is no secret that I am a big proponent of lifting weights and strength training. Personally, I just love it. Insert YouTube video here….

Relax. You won’t look like this guy by lifting weights. Even super heavy weights. There is a lot of hard work involved, (I am talking hours and hours and days upon days worth of work), major calories consumed, and did I already mention work?, that go into a douchy… ummm, I mean “built” body like this guys. I wrote a blog dedicated to debunking the “bulking up” myth. Read it HERE.

A study from the University of Alabama in Birmingham showed that dieters who lifted heavy weights lost the same amount of weight as dieters who did just cardio, but all the weight lost by the weight lifters was primarily fat while the cardio queens lost a lot of muscle along with some fat. And more muscle, less fat translated to smaller clothing sizes than their less muscular counterparts.

Here is what a pound of fat looks like vs what a pound of muscle looks like. (This is my favorite image to share, btw….)
Visual imagery is very effective in this case I think 🙂

Here is a before and after picture sequence of a young lady. Her starting weight is a very respectable 127lbs. That is her “before” picture. Her “after” picture was taken following a regular resistance training program for three months, after which she gained 9 pounds of muscle. I think the difference is just unbelievable!

Did you know that for every one pound of muscle gained, your body (on average) will burn an extra 50 calories per day! Who doesn’t want that?!

So, that is all I have to say – for now, on the topic. It is my favorite thing to preach, so you can bet your little keesters that I will be bringing it up again sometime!

Happy Wednesday all!

Leave a Reply

