Thursday 2/2

Posted: February 2, 2012 in Bootcamp, General Stuff


I burned 267 calories tonight! Yowza! I guarantee you a lot of those calories burned were during the laps at the end 🙂 I loved having all of that extra time to really focus on cardio! I will definitely be figuring that into our class time from now on!

Remember, everyone is different. Everyone’s bodies are different. I burned this amount tonight, you may have burned more than me or less than me. This is just to give you a ballpark idea, and to put all your hard work into a “number”.
Another thing to keep in mind is that we do Tabata in class which is a form of High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT). During this sort of training, the body continues to burn calories up to two hours after you have untied your sneakers. So that number is most definitely higher, but it is difficult to say by how much. That depends on how hard you worked out, how efficiently your body burns calories, and on a bunch of other variables. So just keep that in mind.
If you are curious about my calorie counter, it is a Fitbit. You can read all about it here. I LOVE it and it is so useful to me in so many more ways than just counting how many calories I burned during a workout.

I have had a few class members share with me different injuries/ailments that they are living with. I am so happy that you all feel comfortable enough with me to talk with me about stuff like this. I also want you to know that I never am judging you or thinking that you are “slacking”, as I know some of you were concerned about. My first concern is your safety. I have a gym full of people who are working at all different fitness levels. I try my best to cover all modifications but there is bound to be times when I forget to mention something. You are in charge of you. You know your strengths and you know your weaknesses. If something is painful beyond a muscle ache, reevaluate what you are doing. Continue to work within your capabilities and then when you feel stronger, progress with heavier weights or step up to a higher modification. The whole point is to keep at it and grow. You will be surprised at what you will be able to do in a couple of months!

Great class tonight. Can’t wait until next week! I hope you all have an excellent weekend – enjoy the Super Bowl!

Comments
  1. Tammy Barone says:

    WOW!!! That’s a lot of calories!

    As hard as it is for me, sometimes, to “do one more”, I just love this Tabata style of working out. I’m so glad that you brought this to me. You are a really good instructor. You motivate without being mean. You always bring us so much information whether it is about nutrition, or calorie burning or exercise modifications or what any particular exercise is good for.

    It is difficult when my muscles hurt so much that I can’t walk, sit or stand, but then on the other hand, it is great to know that there is a muscle there and I have just made it stronger.

    Thanks!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Oh Tammy we rocked it Thursday!!!! I too love Tabata and I think it really is the most efficient exercise format out there.

    Your positive feedback makes me smile! I am glad that I am able to help you (all) out! I learn so much each day, I love sharing it with you and it is nice to hear that it is appreciated 🙂

Leave a Reply

