Baked Chicken Nuggets – What my kids eat when they won’t eat what I eat

Posted: April 20, 2012 in Nutrition, Recipes, Whole Foods and Organics

Most of the time I am cooking two meals. And no I am not bothered by this at all. I cook a lot of rice, beans, veggies, homemade soups, veggies, fish and veggies 😉 for my hubby and me for dinner. My kids are not into these foods so much. I am not a “food pusher”. I don’t make my kids eat a plateful of something that makes them gag. I don’t want them to dread dinner time, I want them to look forward to it!

We have a “one bite rule” for new foods. We all must try new things, at least one bite. Sometimes I win and they love it, sometimes they dry heave. Either way, I always make sure that they know that I am happy they tried a new food and if they aren’t impressed with my culinary efforts, I assure them that I will cook the same food in a different way the next time that they try it.
And then they get to happily eat the food that makes their mouths and tummies happy.

I have been compiling a “go to” list of “kid-friendly-and-approved” (emphasis on the “and-approved”, as I have realized that just because a recipe claims to be kid-friendly, does NOT mean that my kids will eat it…).

On the top of the list is this recipe for two reasons. 1) My kids LOVE them, and 2) They are easy to make up in large batches and freeze ahead of time.

These nuggets are also pink slime free 😉

Baked Chicken Nuggets

16 oz (2 large) skinless boneless chicken breasts, cut into even bit sized pieces
salt and pepper to taste
2 tsp olive oil
6 tbsp whole wheat Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
2 tbsp panko
2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese
olive oil spray

Preheat oven to 425°. Spray a baking sheet with olive oil spray.

Put the olive oil in one bowl and the breadcrumbs, panko and parmesan cheese in another.

Season chicken with salt and pepper, then put in the bowl with the olive oil and mix well so the olive oil evenly coats all of the chicken.

Put a few chunks of chicken at a time into the breadcrumb mixture to coat, then on the baking sheet. Lightly spray the top with olive oil spray then bake 8 – 10 minutes. Turn over then cook another 4 – 5 minutes or until cooked though.

Leave a Reply

