Snack time! – Hot Pretzels!

Posted: April 20, 2012 in Nutrition, Recipes, Whole Foods and Organics

My kids have been bugging me for hot pretzels. I haven’t bought them in a very long time, as the list of ingredients on the package is just enormous. Up until recently I have been able to distract and redirect my kiddos appetites toward other, less processed treats. This week however, they were relentless, which led me to use the good ol’ Google machine. To my surprise I found a recipe for homemade hot pretzels. To add to this surprise I was shocked to find out that only five ingredients are required!

They are amazing. Delicious. WAY better than the frozen variety. We each ate one straight out of the oven, because that is the best time to eat anything. I then kept the rest in a Ziplock baggie on the counter, expecting that they would not last the week and warrant space in the freezer. I was correct.

Soft Pretzel Recipe

1 1/2 cup warm water
1 teaspoon yeast
2 tablespoons honey
Dissolve in water and let sit for 10 minutes

Then add:

1 teaspoon salt
4 cups flour
Mix thoroughly and knead for 5 minutes. Cover and let rise for 30 minutes.

After rising, roll pieces into ropes and shape as desired. Dip ropes in a baking soda water solution of 2 cups warm water and 2 tablespoons baking soda. Place on a greased or parchment lined cookie sheet and let rise again for 1 hour. Bake in oven at 450 degrees for 10 minutes or less (until pretzels begin to turn brown and are cooked through).

I wish I took pictures of my finished product… as I learned that next time I will make the ropes thinner. There was a lot of rising and therefore my pretzels were more like pretzel rolls – still delicious though.

The image above is from the site that I got the recipe from, one of my favorites Super Healthy Kids

Leave a Reply

