Article – The Irrelevance of Age in Fitness

Posted: May 25, 2012 in Bootcamp, Health, Nutrition

This is a fantastic article from Oxygen Magazine’s website that goes over the importance of exercise in all stages of life. It is never too late or too early to begin your quest to better your health and the overall quality of your life. It is a quick read, but a great one.

The Irrelevance Of Age In Fitness
By Kim Dolan Leto | Wednesday, May 23, 2012 | Comments: 1
I happened to catch a post by Tosca Reno, it was about her birthday. She is turning 53 and it got me thinking. Living this Oxygen lifestyle changes all the rules about aging. It isn’t just her body, or her skin, it’s everything.
I have been told, I look younger at 43 than I did in my 20’s. I never really worked out or understood the importance of eating clean until I was 30, and once I started; these are the changes I’ve noticed.

• Lower cholesterol, resting heart rate and lower blood pressure
• Clearer more youthful skin
• Fat loss
• Muscle gain
• Increased energy
• Great reduction in stress
• Inner peace
• Everything in my life runs more smoothly
• My days are more productive
• Better sleep
• The way I look at life is much more positive
• Confidence
• I’m so much happier

People think they don’t have time to exercise or cook clean meals, but the truth is they don’t have time not to. When you look at all the women over 40 that have graced the cover of Oxygen, you’ll be stunned, Francisca Dennis-mother of 6, Dara Torres, Elaine Goodlad and of course Tosca.

I don’t like to compare, but it’s hard not to notice the difference. When I think of women like Francisca, a mother of six, she motivates me and shows me, there is NO EXCUSE! I’m so grateful to have found fitness and to have adopted it as my lifestyle. I shutter to think how unhealthy I would be without it.

Some people reduce fitness to a look, and even find comfort thinking it’s all vanity, but the truth is when you take care of yourself from the inside out you gain an inner confidence and self-respect that helps you to continue on this fitness path. What you look like is only a small part of it.
May I ask you to consider the fact that you too will age? Don’t you want to do it the way these women have? You are worth the investment.

Leave a Reply

