Veggie Share Update!

Posted: June 24, 2012 in Health, Nutrition, Whole Foods and Organics

I have written in previous posts about my veggie share at Thorpes Organic Family Farm.

Well, it has been three weeks of travels to the farm once a week to get my share of freshly picked (they pick the day of your pickup, can’t get fresher than that!), organically grown veggies. So far, I must report that I am in LOVE. The farm itself is so well organized for pickup. I literally am there for minutes gathering my goodies. To my delight I was able to pick an unlimited amount of peas from the fields myself twice already. I cannot wait until I am able to do this with veggies like tomatoes and squashes come fall! I have already frozen enough garlic to last my family quite awhile. I must say here how grateful I am that I scooped up a vacuum sealer back in December. It was a great deal and I figured it may come in handy some time, boy was that an understatement! My next scheduled purchase is a salad shooter – if you know me and knives, you know why this is a necessity πŸ˜‰

I will take a picture of my goodies each week and post them for you to drool over. Right now, the variety is limited as it is still early in the season. I must say though that usually, I spend about $55 a week on veggies and fruits for my family at the grocery store. Some I buy organic and some I do not. Since the veggie share started I have been spending half that, which is great, and I hope that will only get better as time goes on.

First… here is a picture of my two boys. I talk about them from time to time. They are the loves of my little life. And really, how stinkin’ cute are they?

Now on to my veggies….

We picked over 15lbs of peas this week, no thanks to my youngest son. He ate more than he picked in the fields. But he is cute. So he can stay for another week πŸ˜‰

And here is the pea field…

So far, I am Über happy with the farm… I can’t wait to see what I get to bring home this week! Stay tuned for the update!

Leave a Reply

